Cabaret Voltaire - Red Mecca

Cabaret Voltaire
Red Mecca
Label: Rough Trade ‎– RTL-18
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Japan
Date of released: 1982
Category: Electronic
Style: Industrial, Experimental


A1 A Touch Of Evil 3:11
A2 Sly Doubt 4:53
A3 Landslide 2:06
A4 A Thousand Ways 10:35
B1 Red Mask 6:53
B2 Split Second Feeling 3:46
B3 Black Mask 3:18
B4 Spread The Virus 3:41
B5 A Touch Of Evil (Reprise) 1:33

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Japan Record Inc.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Rough Trade Records
  • Copyright (c) – Rough Trade Music
  • Recorded At – Western Works
  • Produced At – Western Works


  • Drums – Nik Allday
  • Other [Vox Continental], Tape [Tape Recorder] – Chris Watson (tracks: Christopher R. Watson)
  • Performer, Sleeve, Recorded By, Producer – Cabaret Voltaire
  • Sleeve – Neville Brody
  • Songwriter [All Compositions By] – Watson*, Kirk*, Mallinder*
  • Synthesizer, Guitar, Clarinet, Horns, Strings – Richard H. Kirk
  • Vocals, Bass Guitar, Bongos – Stephen Mallinder


Comes with gatefold insert sheet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, stamped): RTL-18A1 1 A 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, stamped): RTL-18B1 1 A 1
  • Rights Society: JASRAC

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ROUGH 27 Cabaret Voltaire Red Mecca ‎(LP, Album) Rough Trade ROUGH 27 UK 1981
Rough 27, rough 27 Cabaret Voltaire Red Mecca ‎(LP, Album) Rough Trade, Base Record Rough 27, rough 27 Italy 1981
cabs3cd Cabaret Voltaire Red Mecca ‎(CD, Album, Promo, RP) Mute cabs3cd Europe Unknown
rough 27 Cabaret Voltaire Red Mecca ‎(LP, Album) Rough Trade rough 27 UK 1981
RTL-18 Cabaret Voltaire Red Mecca ‎(LP, Album, Promo) Rough Trade RTL-18 Japan 1982